Posted by: knitknigel | March 26, 2009

Making Connections

Today I finally made my connection with the Alzheimer Society of BC. Sandra was great to talk to and now I feel that my plan to raise funds for the Society through my walking and knitting along the route of the Camino is going to be very successful.

The Society has a mechanism to support fundraising efforts by people like me. They create a link that I will post on my blog. When you click it you will be directed to a page where you can make a donation in the name of my blog. Right now they have a group who are fundraising through their efforts to climb Kilimanjaro in Africa! How exciting.

You can see how their page looks here: Ascent for Alzheimer’s. Click on the names of the climbers to see how they are doing.

It will take some time to get everything together so that my blog followers can donate to my campaign. But I am looking forward to having great success. It will be great to have you connecting with me as you read my blog and I am excited to know that I can connect you to the great work that the Alzheimer’s Society does in research and support for people living with this devastating disease.

Ultreia!

Responses

  1. The link to the Alzheimer’s page is most inspiring! Well done for making such a great connection. And did you notice that one of the people going on the Kilimanjaro climb seems to be wearing a pair of Holli’s mitts? Six degrees of separation or what?

    I am busy sending your blog link to your friends in Calgary. Also, we are having a program on the Camino at Calhoun on Monday and I will mention your link to the group, as long as you are OK with that.

  2. what a fabulous idea nigel! knitting, walking, and raising money for a serious cause! best of luck to you!
    xo
    chris

  3. What a great blog. I’m looking forward to following your adventures in Spain. I have the maps of Via de la Plata & the Camino Frances bookmarked to follow along.


Leave a Reply

Categories

